Leipziger Ballett

Leipziger Ballett

Biography

Leipzig Ballet, with its origins dating back to the late seventeenth century, is now widely recognised as one of the great international ballet companies. In the 1940s, Mary Wigman set a milestone with her choreography of Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana – with features of expressionist dance. Since the opening of the Neues Opernhaus (New Opera House) in 1960, virtually all the great narrative ballets have been performed, as well as new works.

1991 saw the start of a new era with the appointment of Uwe Scholz as Director of Ballet and Principal Choreographer. His first première in Leipzig, The Creation, which remains the flagship of the company in the neoclassical tradition, was followed by symphonic ballets such as The Great Mass, Symphony No. 7 in A major and Bruckner 8, which were staged as guest performances throughout Europe and in Hong Kong. Following Uwe Scholz’s death in 2004, the new Director of Ballet, Paul Chalmer, made his mark, inter alia, with a three-year Stravinsky cycle.

Since the 2010/11 season, Mario Schröder has taken over the company as Director of Ballet and Principal Choreographer. He previously held the same posts in Würzburg and Kiel, and has created well over 60 choreographies, including in Japan, the US, Russia, Mongolia and France as well as for great German venues such as the Deutsche Oper (German Opera) and Komische Oper Berlin (Berlin Comic Opera) and for the Aalto Ballett Theater Essen (Aalto Ballet Theatre in Essen). He worked with Ruth Berghaus, Maxim Dessau, Nikolaus Lehnhoff and Uwe Scholz and has won numerous choreography competitions.

New curatorial-artistic direction coming up 2024/25

Rémy Fichet is the designated new Director of the Leipzig Ballet and will take over its artistic direction at Oper Leipzig from the 2024/25 season. In succession to the meritorious previous Ballet Director and Chief Choreographer Mario Schröder, Rémy Fichet will continue the tradition of the Leipzig Ballet as established by Uwe Scholz. For the upcoming seasons, collaborations with innovative choreographers from the international dance scene are being planned. Tobias Wolff, Director of Oper Leipzig: "We are deliberately making the change to a curatorial-artistic direction at the Leipzig Ballet, and I am truly grateful that our preferred candidate Rémy Fichet has chosen our institution. I look forward to new creative formats and choreographies with the company."

Rémy Fichet, born in Amiens (France), completed his dance training at the Paris Opera Ballet School. After two years as a dancer at the Ballet de l'Opéra national de Paris, he joined the Leipzig Ballet in 2000, performing in the ensemble until 2008, most recently as a soloist. Following his career as a dancer, he remained loyal to both dance and the Leipzig Ballet. As scheduler and project coordinator, and since 2012 as Artistic Production Manager, Rémy Fichet provided the structural framework for the successful work of the Leipzig Ballet, with additional qualifications from two years of part-time management studies and a Master of Arts degree, which he completed with distinction at the Palucca University of Dance Dresden in 2023. Rémy Fichet established first-time specialised dance medicine services for the ballet ensemble at Oper Leipzig and values long-term, individually tailored support for the dancers and the next generation of choreographic creatives.

Events

  • Peter I. Tschaikowski

    Leipziger Ballett Sun 23.06.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Leipziger Ballett | Internationales Ballettfestival »Leipzig tanzt!«

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer

  • GALA

    Leipziger Ballett Fri 28.06.2024 | 19:30 | Opernhaus

    Internationales Ballettfestival »Leipzig tanzt!« | Internationale Ballettstars und das Leipziger Ballett

  • Giselle

    Leipziger Ballett Sat 29.06.2024 | 19:00 | Opernhaus

    Leipziger Ballett | Internationales Ballettfestival »Leipzig tanzt!«

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer

  • Auftakt Leipziger Ballett

    Leipziger Ballett Sat 31.08.2024 | 11:00 | Opernhaus
  • Auftakt Leipziger Ballett

    Leipziger Ballett Sat 31.08.2024 | 13:00 | Konzertfoyer Opernhaus
    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew
    • Premiere

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Sat 26.10.2024 | 19:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Sat 02.11.2024 | 19:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Sun 17.11.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Wed 20.11.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Sun 24.11.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

Leipziger Ballett

Leipziger Ballett

Biografie

Das Leipziger Ballett, dessen Ursprünge bis ins späte 17. Jahrhundert reichen, zählt heute zu den großen internationalen Kompanien. In den 40er Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts setzte Mary Wigman mit ihrer Choreografie von Carl Orffs »Carmina Burana« - mit Stilmitteln des Ausdruckstanzes - einen Meilenstein. Seit Eröffnung des Neuen Opernhauses im Jahr 1960 wurden nahezu alle großen Handlungsballette, aber auch zeitgenössische choreografische Handschriften aufgeführt.

Die Einleitung einer neuen Ära erfolgte 1991 mit dem Antritt von Uwe Scholz als Ballettdirektor und Chefchoreograf. Seiner ersten Leipziger Premiere »Die Schöpfung«, folgten sinfonische Ballette wie »Die Große Messe«, »Siebente Symphonie« und »Bruckner 8«, die auf Gastspielen in ganz Europa und Asien gezeigt wurden. Nach dem Tod von Uwe Scholz in 2004 setzte der neue Ballettdirektor Paul Chalmer u.a. mit einem dreijährigen Strawinsky-Zyklus wesentliche Akzente.

Mario Schröder hat 2010/11 als Ballettdirektor und Chefchoreograf die Company übernommen. Zuvor wirkte er in gleichen Positionen in Würzburg und Kiel, schuf weit über 60 Choreografien u. a. in Japan, USA, Russland, Frankreich und der Mongolei sowie für große deutsche Bühnen wie Deutsche Oper und Komische Oper Berlin und für das Aalto Ballett Essen. Er arbeitete mit Ruth Berghaus, Maxim Dessau, Nikolaus Lehnhoff und Uwe Scholz zusammen und ist Preisträger zahlreicher Choreografie-Wettbewerbe. 

Neue künstlerisch-kuratorische Leitung ab Spielzeit 2024/25

Rémy Fichet ist der designierte neue Direktor des Leipziger Balletts und wird ab der Saison 2024/25 dessen künstlerische Leitung an der Oper Leipzig übernehmen. In der Nachfolge des verdienten bisherigen Ballettdirektors und Chefchoreographen Mario Schröder wird Rémy Fichet die von Uwe Scholz begründete Tradition des Leipziger Balletts fortsetzen. Für die kommenden Spielzeiten ist die Zusammenarbeit mit innovativen Choreographinnen und Choreographen aus der internationalen Tanzszene in Planung. Tobias Wolff, Intendant der Oper Leipzig: „Wir vollziehen im Leipziger Ballett damit bewusst den Wechsel zu einer kuratorisch-künstlerischen Leitung, und ich schätze es sehr, dass unser Wunschkandidat Rémy Fichet sich für unser Haus entschieden hat. Ich freue mich mit der Kompagnie auf neue kreative Formate und Choreographien.“ 

Rémy Fichet, geboren in Amiens (Frankreich), absolvierte seine tänzerische Ausbildung an der Ballettschule der Pariser Oper. Nach zwei Jahren als Tänzer am Ballet de l’Opéra national de Paris kam er im Jahr 2000 ans Leipziger Ballett, wo bis 2008 im Ensemble tanzte, zuletzt als Solist. Im Anschluss an seine tänzerische Karriere blieb er dem Tanz und dem Leipziger Ballett treu. Als Disponent und Projektkoordinator und seit 2012 als künstlerischer Produktionsleiter schaffte Rémy Fichet die strukturellen Rahmenbedingungen für die erfolgreiche Arbeit des Leipziger Balletts, zusätzlich qualifiziert mit einem zweijährigen berufsbegleitenden Managementstudium und durch einen Master of Arts, den er 2023 an der Palucca Hochschule für Tanz Dresden mit Auszeichnung abschloss. Rémy Fichet etablierte an der Oper Leipzig erstmals eine spezielle tanzmedizinische Betreuung des Ballettensembles und legt großen Wert auf eine langfristige, individuell abgestimmte Förderung der Tanzenden und der nächsten Generation choreografischer Kreativer.

Termine

  • Peter I. Tschaikowski

    Leipziger Ballett So. 23.06.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Leipziger Ballett | Internationales Ballettfestival »Leipzig tanzt!«

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer

  • GALA

    Leipziger Ballett Fr. 28.06.2024 | 19:30 | Opernhaus

    Internationales Ballettfestival »Leipzig tanzt!« | Internationale Ballettstars und das Leipziger Ballett

  • Giselle

    Leipziger Ballett Sa. 29.06.2024 | 19:00 | Opernhaus

    Leipziger Ballett | Internationales Ballettfestival »Leipzig tanzt!«

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer

  • Auftakt Leipziger Ballett

    Leipziger Ballett Sa. 31.08.2024 | 11:00 | Opernhaus
  • Auftakt Leipziger Ballett

    Leipziger Ballett Sa. 31.08.2024 | 13:00 | Konzertfoyer Opernhaus
    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew
    • Premiere

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Sa. 26.10.2024 | 19:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Sa. 02.11.2024 | 19:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett So. 17.11.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett Mi. 20.11.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.

    • Lovette / Sergej Prokofjew

    Romeo und Julia

    Leipziger Ballett So. 24.11.2024 | 17:00 | Opernhaus

    Einführung 30 Min. vor Vorstellungsbeginn im Konzertfoyer.