•  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Previous Next

Madama Butterfly

Giacomo Puccini

Performance 06/04/2017  |  Japanese tragedy in three acts | Libretto by Luigi Illica

Purchase a ticket

Japanese tragedy in three acts | Libretto by Luigi Illica and Giuseppe Giacosa | After the theater piece by David Belasco and John Luther Long | In Italian with German supertitles | Playing time ca. 2 1/2 hours | One intermission

This opera, which Puccini himself considered his favorite and best work, moves everyone who hears it. In the summer of 1900, Puccini saw David Belasco’s theater piece »Madame Butterfly« in a London Theater, and was indelibly touched. It was a tragic story of very human proportions, coupled with an old-fashioned dose of Far East exoticism. As Belasco did, Puccini set his opera in the present, in the year 1904, the year of its world premiere. The strict rules and customs of Japanese society are confronted by the western world, in the form of the American marine lieutenant Pinkerton. For him, his fictitious marriage with the young geisha Cio-Cio San, also called »Butterfly«, is nothing more than an exotic romantic adventure. For her, though, it is the chance of a lifetime: Fascinated by the notion of the different, freer world that her lover could give her, she’s ready to break with everything she’s ever known. She believes steadfastly that Pinkerton will return to her, even long after he has left Japan. And when he finally does return, after three years, it spells disaster.

With »Madama Butterfly«, Puccini created one of the greatest masterpieces of his time: sumptuous melodies, full of emotional turns and exotic moments that merge as one, without sacrificing truth and realism. Aron Stiehl, who was most recently celebrated for his production of Wagner’s Liebesverbot in the summer of 2013 in Bayreuth and the subsequent Leipzig premiere of the same work, directs.

Upcoming events

  • Sparkasse Leipzig

Ticket-Hotline:

+49 (0)341 – 12 61 261

•  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
Previous Next

Madama Butterfly

Giacomo Puccini

Vorstellung 04.06.2017  |  Japanische Tragödie in drei Akten | Text von Giuseppe Giacosa und Luigi Illica | Nach dem Schauspiel von David Belasco und John Luther Long | In italienischer Sprache mit deutschen Übertiteln  |  Spieldauer ca.2 1/2 Stunden | Eine Pause

Ticket kaufen

Diese Oper, die Puccini selbst als sein liebstes und bestes Werk ansah, lässt keinen kalt. Im Sommer 1900 erlebte der Komponist in einem Londoner Theater das Schauspiel »Madame Butterfly« von David Belasco, das ihn nachhaltig beeindruckte. Es verband eine menschliche Tragödie von nahezu antikem Ausmaß mit den Reizen einer fernen Kultur. Wie Belascos Stück spielt auch Puccinis 1904 uraufgeführte Oper in der Gegenwart: In Gestalt des amerikanischen Marineleutnants Pinkerton bricht die westliche Welt in die festgefügte, durch strenge Bräuche geprägte japanische Gesellschaft ein. Die Scheinehe, die Pinkerton mit der jungen Geisha Cio-Cio-San, genannt »Butterfly«, eingeht, ist für ihn ein exotisches Liebesabenteuer. Für Cio-Cio-San bedeutet sie die Hoffnung ihres Lebens. Fasziniert vom Hauch einer anderen, freieren Welt, der ihren Geliebten umgibt, ist sie bereit, mit allen bisherigen Bindungen zu brechen. Unbeirrt glaubt sie an Pinkertons Rückkehr, als dieser Japan längst verlassen hat. Sein Besuch des Inselreichs nach drei Jahren führt zur Katastrophe.  

Mit »Madama Butterfly« gelang Puccini eines der größten Meisterwerke seiner Zeit, in dem lyrischer Schmelz, emotionale Verdichtung und exotisches Kolorit auf bestrickende Weise zusammenfließen, ohne die Darstellung der Wahrheit zu verschleiern. Regie führt Aron Stiehl, der im Sommer 2013 in Bayreuth für seine Inszenierung von Wagners »Liebesverbot« und ebenso bei der anschließenden Leipziger Premiere dieser Produktion gefeiert wurde. 

Aufführungen 12. Dez. 2017 / 28. Jan. 2018 / 06. Feb. 2018 / 18. Mär. 2018, Opernhaus

Nächste Termine

  • Sparkasse Leipzig

Ticket-Hotline:

+49 (0)341 – 12 61 261