Leipzig Opera's Children's and Youth Chorus

Leipzig Opera’s children’s choir has been in existence as an in-house children’s chorus since 1990 and is an integral part of child and youth development in the Department of Education. Up until this point, as the permanent guest chorus, the Singschule des Musikunterrichtskabinetts der Stadt Leipzig (Singing School of the Conservatory of the City of Leipzig) had taken the children’s roles in the opera and Musical Comedy Theatre.The choir was directed by the church musicianand opera singer Anne-Kristin Paul-Mai.

In 2005, Sophie Bauer took over the children’s choir. In 2007 /08, a youth chorus was also founded at Leipzig Opera on her initiative. Currently, 220 children, adolescents and young adults aged between four and 25 sing at the opera. In age-specific groups (Opernmäuse (opera mice), beginner’s children’s choir, intermediate children’s choir, advanced children’s choir), participants receive extensive training in singing and music theory as well as practical stage training. Since the 2008/09 season, the chorus has also cooperated with the Hochschule für Musik und Theater “Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy” Leipzig (Leipzig’s Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy College of Music and Theatre). Prospective singing tutors provide the children with voice training in small groups. Through this continuous and consistent training of young people, Leipzig Opera’s children’s choir is currently one of the best children’s opera choirs in Germany. The objective and focus the children’s choir’s work is participating in current opera productions in Leipzig such as Tosca, La Bohème, Parsifal and Hansel and Gretel.

The children and adolescents also have the opportunity to develop stand-alone performances. In recent years, their projects include Das Wesentliche ist unsichtbar (What Is Essential Is Invisible), Was wäre wenn … (What If …) and the integrative children’s project Monsieur Mathieu, was wird ? (Monsieur Mathieu, what will be?), which was funded by the PwC Foundation and awarded the German Music Council’s Junge-Ohren-Preis (“Young Ears” Prize). In the 2010 /11 season, Leipzig Opera’s children’s choir staged an independent new opera production for the first time with The Arabian Princess. This was followed by a new production of the children’s opera Pinocchio a year later and Aladdin and the Magic Lamp will première in 2014/15.

Leipzig Opera children’s choir is under the patronage of Juliane Kirchner-Jung.

The youth chorus provides support for the opera ensemble. However, it also has its own repertoire (Waldrandgeflüster (Rustling Around the Forest), Häxan and Magnificat by C. P.  E. Bach) and, for many young people, it is an important transition to their professional career as a musician. In 2014, for the first time, the youth chorus staged a Christmas concert together with the Musical Comedy Theatre Orchestra.

Contact

Director of the Children’s and Youth Chorus
Sophie Bauer

Chorbüro Kinderchor
Tel: +49 (0)341 - 12 61 461
kinderchor@oper-leipzig.de

  • Sparkasse Leipzig

Ticket-Hotline:

+49 (0)341 – 12 61 261

headerimage

Kinder- und Jugendchor

Der Kinderchor der Oper Leipzig existiert als hauseigener Kinderchor seit 1990 und gehört als wesentlicher Bestandteil der Kinder- und Jugendförderung der Abteilung Education an. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt hatte die »Singschule des Musikunterrichtskabinetts der Stadt Leipzig« als ständiger Gastchor die Kinderchorpartien in Oper und Musikalischer Komödie übernommen. Die Leitung hatte die Kirchenmusikerin und Opernsängerin Anne-Kristin Paul-Mai inne.

Im Jahr 2005 übernahm Sophie Bauer die Leitung des Kinderchores. Auf ihre Initiative hin wurde 2007 /08 an der Oper Leipzig auch ein Jugendchor gegründet. Derzeit singen 220 Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene zwischen vier und 25 Jahren an der Oper. In altersspezifischen Gruppen (Opernmäuse, Vorstufe Kinderchor, Mittelstufe Kinderchor, Oberstufe Kinderchor) erfahren die Mitglieder eine umfangreiche sängerische, musiktheoretische und bühnenpraktische Ausbildung. Seit der Spielzeit 2008/09 gibt es darüber hinaus eine Kooperation mit der Hochschule für Musik und Theater »Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy« Leipzig. Angehende Gesangspädagogen unterrichten in kleinen Gruppen Stimmbildung. Durch diese kontinuierliche und konsequente Nachwuchsarbeit zählt der Kinderchor der Oper Leipzig derzeit zu den besten Opernkinderchören Deutschlands. Ziel und Schwerpunkt der Arbeit des Kinderchores ist die Mitwirkung bei den laufenden Opernproduktionen des Hauses, u.  a. in »Tosca«, »La Bohème«, »Parsifal« und »Hänsel und Gretel«.
Daneben haben die Kinder und Jugendlichen die Möglichkeit, eigenständige Aufführungsformate zu entwickeln. In den letzten Jahren entstanden so Projekte wie »Das Wesentliche ist unsichtbar«, »Was wäre wenn …« sowie das integrative Kinderprojekt »Monsieur Mathieu, was wird ?«, das von der pwc-Stiftung gefördert und mit dem »Junge-Ohren-Preis« des Deutschen Musikrates ausgezeichnet wurde. In der Spielzeit 2010 /11 brachte der Kinderchor der Oper Leipzig mit der »Arabischen Prinzessin« erstmals eine eigenständige Opernneuproduktion auf die Bühne. Ein Jahr darauf folgte die Neuproduktion der Kinderoper »Pinocchio«, 2014/15 wird »Aladin und die Wunderlampe« Premiere haben.

Der Kinderchor der Oper Leipzig steht unter der Schirmherrschaft von Juliane Kirchner-Jung.
Der Jugendchor wird zur Unterstützung des Opernchores eingesetzt. Er tritt aber auch mit eigenen Programmen auf (»Waldrandgeflüster«, »Häxan«, »Magnificat« von C. P.  E. Bach) und ist für viele Jugendliche ein wichtiger Übergang zur professionellen Musikerlaufbahn. 2014 gestaltete er erstmalig ein Weihnachtskonzert gemeinsam mit dem Orchester der Musikalischen Komödie.

Kontakt

Leiterin des Kinder- und Jugendchores
Sophie Bauer
Chorbüro Kinderchor
Josephine Rozlach
Tel: +49 (0)341 - 12 61 461
kinderchor@oper-leipzig.de
Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter Education